About Us

Business Development Co-operative Society Limited was initiated in 2002 in the historical city of Mulleriyawa,

With great patronage of current honorary Chairman Mr. Piyal Ramawickrema …



Provide financial and non-financial facilities to micro, small and medium scale economically active people in the area to build-up entrepreneurship with cooperative features.


Provide efficient and productive services to all our clients according to our vision.

Legal Information

Registration number - WP/COOP/HO/05

Date of Registration - 2002-03-01

Under the Cooperative Societies Act No. 05 of 1972 and Cooperative Societies Convention No. 03 of Western Provincial Council of 1998.

Board of Directors

Hon Chairman Deshamanya Lion Piyal Ramawickrema
Founder of the Society
Chairman since the beginning of the society
Justice of the Peace for all-island
Retired Police Officer (intelligence unit)
Director of the Industrial Development Authority - Western Province
Manudam Abhimanee, Desha Shakthi, Lanka Puthra

Hon Secretary General, Presidential Award Winner
J.D. Gamini Jayaweera
A Frontier of the Society
The Secretary to the Society from its inception
Justice of the Peace (whole- island)
Desha Bandhu, Wishwa Keerthi, Lanka Puthra
Management Consultant
Advisor to the Ministry of Co-operative Development – Western Province
Director of the Western Provincial Passenger Transport Authority
Chairman - Colombo District Co-operative Council
Director - National Co-operative Council of Sri Lanka Ltd
Vice President Lion Shirley Ariyarathna
Former Marketing Manager - Multi Purpose Cooperative Society Kolonnawa
Justices of the Peace (whole- island)
Former chairman of the Lions Club Gothatuwa
Hon Director
Mr. Sarath Jayasinghe
Marine fire and Industrial Safety (HSE) Inspector
(Colombo Dockyard PLC)
Hon Director
Sri Lanka Janaranjana P. Chamila Vagisa Perera
Justice of the Peace (whole-island)
Hon Director
Mr. G.H. Nimal Chandrasiri
Former Vice President of the Society
Former Administrative Officer
Former Secretary to the Hon Minister to the Maskeliya Seat Mr. Edmond Wijesooriya
Former Manager of the Jeffersons (Pvt) Ltd
Hon Director
Mrs. Sriyani Nawagamuwa
Justice of the Peace for all-island



  • Silver Award at the 80th International Co-operative Day in the year 2002

  • Gold Award at the 81st International Co-operative Day in the year 2003

  • Achievement Award at the 82nd International Co-operative Day in the year 2004

  • Received the Productivity Award from Hon Minister of Labour and Manpower Mr. Athauda Seneviratne at the Sri Lanka Singapore Community Care Center on 2008.09.05.
  • Hon Chairman Mr. Piyal Ramawickrema and Hon Secretary Mr. Gamini Jayaweera received the All Island Productivity Award & Certificate at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall on 2008.10.20

  • Samupakara Prasadini Gold Award was awarded by the President Mahinda Rajapaksa at the President's House in Kandy.